//
you're feasting on...
Charity

Victoria Celebrates With David Foster and Friends and Gives Generously #DavidFoster25th

A huge thanks to David Foster, The David Foster Foundation (http://www.davidfosterfoundation.org), the friends of David Foster, and all the celebs, guests, and attendees at the 25th Anniversary Celebration that took place at the Save On Foods Arena on Saturday, May 26… indeed, it was an incredible evening of thanks, talent and celebration bu7t most of all a simply awesome outpouring of generosity by a number of individuals as the event capped off an amazing week-end that is reported to have raised over $4.6 million for David’s Foundation… wow!

I was truly honored to have been able to attend Saturday’s concert, I guess in my own way I small way that I could help out such a great cause. The generosity of a number of individuals that bid on amazing items up for bid in a pre-event auction was truly incredible, and the talent that was shared by invited friends and guest celebrities delivered an evening to be remembered.

david foster foundation 25th anniversary celebration

I have to admit, I’m not very familiar with the Canadian Tennors (@tennorsmusic), a group of young men who apparently got their start in Victoria BC but I was more than blown away by their performance. Kenny G shared a couple of his biggest hits including Songbird, some memory whiplash that took me back 20 years; Sinbad who delivered some awesome comedy was a huge hit with the crowd, his jabs at pretty much everyone in the place including B.C Lieutenant Governor Steven Point had us all in stitches – Sinbad definitely rocked it! Ruben Studdard definitely gave us his all in a couple of incredible tunes and reinforced to us yet again why he shoot to stardom from American Idol – he’s definitely going to have a long career – his impromptu serenade to Muhammad Ali was wicked, I can’t believe that I didn’t record it as I was too busy listening! Josh Groban serenaded us with February Song, a Groban favorite of mine and I was so impressed by his sound and spirit given that he was quite ill at the time – so impressive for him to make such a long trip while being under the weather. Finally, I have to mention Sarah McLachlian, perhaps my favorite female artist, who brought the house down! For me she was the highlight of the evening (as was David with his performance and tribute to Rick Hansen with Man in Motion) and I was almost brought to tears listening to her serenade us with her hit song Angel, accompanied by the Victoria Symphony… wow!

For myself and my 10 year old daughter (she did doze off a couple of times as the event lasted well after midnight) it was a pleasure and a treat for us to be in attendance and I look forward to supporting David Foster and the David Foster Foundation in the future… thanks again to everyone involved.

The David Foster Foundation is dedicated to providing financial support to Canadian families with children in need of life – saving organ transplants.

In addition to helping families with their non-medical expenses, the Foundation strives to increase organ donor registration through public awareness campaigns in Canada and the United States.

See Related Links:

About Editor

Photographing Victoria B.C, Canada

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

