//
you're feasting on...
Events, Food and Drink

The Smoken Bones @smokenBones411 Mardi Gras Celebration – Tues. Feb 21 5:30 PM

It’s February and to many that means Mardis Gras, Mudbugs, fried catfish, Jambalaya, shrimp, beignets and hurricanes (well, that’s what it means to me) and you’ll be glad to know that you have a chance to sample a little N’orleans fun and southern tradition thanks to the gang at Smoken Bones. Yes indeed, Smoken Bones is hosting an awesome sounding event (Mardis Gras Celebration) on Tuesday Feb 21 (Fat Tuesday)  at their new location on Douglas St. – 7-1701 Douglas Street, Victoria, BC (map) starting at 5:30 PM.

For those of you that will start fasting on Ash Wednesday (see Wiki for details of you have no idea what I’m talking about) the crew will be serving up some amazing sounding food, including: a partis gras platter, red beans and rice (my favorite), sausage and crab and some bourbon-based cocktails… nice! For me I’m excited as I have some southern roots that stem back to 2000 when I lived on the Gulf Coast for 4 years. During that time I paid a number of visits to New Orleans, enjoyed many Mardis Gras celebrations and soaked up the Southern hospitality and Mardis Gras traditions – needless to say I’m stoked that something comparable is finally hitting Victoria! I’ve been to a few attempts at mardis gras parties but none have ever managed to pull off a true mardis gras party… this one is sounding very promising though! Hopefully the crews will allow me to take loads of photos to share! I wonder if there’s gonna be a baby hidden inside the King Cake??

You can register for the Mardis Gras Celebration on MeetUp

Follow Smoken Bones on Twitter @smokenBones411

About Editor

Photographing Victoria B.C, Canada

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

